my various life bugs

The real Madame C said:

I am the designated chauffeur for my two middle grade school boys. When I picked them up from school around 1:00 p.m. today, they had a bittersweet surprise for me. They will have a U.N. Day celebration at school tomorrow and they need to come in costumes representing specific countries. My eldest can choose any country and he chose to be a 16th-century English nobleman. We already have the costume at home and looks like this…

20111024-230741.jpg

My youngest can only choose from Arab countries or North American countries. We thought of the American cowboy and I started calling all nearby SM Department stores, National bookstore, and other shops that may carry costumes. Alas, all are out of stock.

So, ever the good supermom, I decided to create a cowboy costume for him. I bought from Shopwise Sucat a two-tone brown cow-like spotted knit shawl (Php195.00) with fringes on both ends, a dark brown cowboy hat (Php200.00), and a police set with pistols and badge (Php125.00). The other materials I already have in the house. After 2 hours, here’s what I made…

20111024-231811.jpg

I used the shawl to make chaps. I was thinking of a leatherette material but none were available with the color I want. The fringes I got from the shawl and used it to drop from the sides of the chaps. Here’s the finished product.

20111024-232630.jpg

The red bandana/scarf I got with my Perry Ellis perfume (manymany years ago), the flesh camiso chino from the recent Buwan ng Wika, and the studded vest from a thrift store.

20111024-233104.jpg

If not for love, I wouldn’t have finished this under time pressure. I saved some brown cloth in case I get inspired making Sylvanian cowboy outfits.

Just sharing the creative process but I won’t be accepting any orders for human-size outfits anytime soon. I’m sticking with Sylvanians.

Comments on: "A Cowboy in the Rough" (2)

  1. Kittymama said:

    Those are the coolest pair of chaps I’ve seen! Yeehaw! Great job, Madame C!

    P.S. Z and G look so cute in their costumes! You ought to make matching Sylvanian sized outfits for their hedgehog counterparts.

Bug me about it! Express your thoughts here.

Tag Cloud

